Tippecanoe County CourthouseCompleted in 1884, the Tippecanoe County Courthouse is one of the most iconic historic structures in downtown Lafayette. An eclectic pastiche of late 19th-century styles—Neoclassical, Second Empire, Renaissance Revival—the building is constructed of Indiana limestone topped with an impressive dome of cast iron. The exterior features over 80 columns of various styles, as well as nine statues—including representations of George Washington, George Rogers Clark, and Tecumseh.
Big Four Railroad DepotConstructed in 1902, this building originally served as the train depot for the "Big Four"—the Cleveland, Cincinnati, Chicago & St. Louis Railroad. During Lafayette's Railroad Relocation in the 1990s, the building was moved a quarter mile to its current location. A landmark of Riehle Plaza, the building is notable for its dramatically overhanging eaves.
Castle CottageNicknamed "Castle Cottage," this home was completed in 1896 for attorney John Gouger and his wife, Helen. Helen Gouger was an outspoken advocate for women's suffrage, and was the first woman to argue a case in front of the Indiana Supreme Court. The home is one of Greater Lafayette's only residential examples of the Romanesque Revival style, popularized by architect Henry Hobson Richardson. The home is notable for its dramatic red brick and grey limestone, as well as its crenellated turret.
Coleman BuildingThis building was completed in 1872 for resident Thomas Coleman. Coleman had become rather wealthy handling stock, lending money and buying and selling real estate. In 1867 Mr. Coleman organized the Farmers Bank and had this handsome structure built on Courthouse Square to accommodate it. Built in the Italianate style, the building is heavily influenced by the architecture of the Italian Renaissance.
David Ross BuildingThis white glazed terra cotta building was constructed in 1918 for David E. Ross, who had his primary business office here. Ross had a very important influence on Lafayette’s history intellectually, civically and financially. In 1905, he invented a new type of steering gear and founded Ross Gear & Tooling Company. The building is a notable example of the Neo-Gothic style, blending medieval influences with streamlined Art Deco style.
Ira Howe BlockUsing the plans he brought to Lafayette from Boston, mill operator Ira G. Howe built this block of three row houses to be occupied by himself and the families of his two children. The two-story Italianate row homes are notable for the projecting bays called "Boston swell fronts". Red brick laid in Flemish bond is the principal material of the building with many decorative cornices and brackets to evoke the feel of Renaissance Italian aesthetics.
Lafayette Conservatory of MusicOriginally constructed in 1863 for resident Thomas Alward, this home is most notable for its time as the Lafayette Conservatory of Music from 1912 to 1954. Operated by Miss Lena Baer, the Conservatory was founded "for the purpose of creating higher and better standards of art and culture." Originally of Second Empire design, the Queen Anne style tower was added to the structure in the 1890s. After stalled renovation attempts, the structure sits empty and deteriorating.
Lafayette TheaterThe Loeb Realty Company built this theater in 1938 and leased it to the Fourth Avenue Amusement Company of Louisville, Kentucky. The Lafayette Theater opened on September 1, 1938 showing “Four’s a Crowd.” The Art Deco style building originally seated 1,251 and astonished patrons with it’s modern air conditioning and advanced sound system. The building is notable for its streamlined, rectilinear façade with contrasting terra cotta tile.
Mars TheaterDesigned by noted local architect Walter Scholer, the Mars theater has served the Lafayette community through the ever-changing trends in entertainment over the last century. The neoclassical brick and limestone theater was constructed in 1921, and early on served as a vaudeville house. The building was later adapted to show movies and to stage dance, theater, and concerts. Famous entertainers as Al Jolson, Bob Hope, the Marx Brothers, and Will Rogers have appeared on stage.
McCord's Candies BuildingOriginally constructed in 1867, the building at the corner of Main and Sixth Streets is known for its sweet history—a candy shop has operated here since 1912. Originally Glatz's Candy, the business was sold to candymaker Ivy McCord in 1947. The business continues to serve custom sodas and hand-made candies out of its antique glass display cases. The building is an opulent example of the Second Empire style, notable for its distinctive mansard roof and detailed cornice.
Painters & Decorators BuildingPerhaps best described as bold and flamboyant, this Renaissance Revival style building was designed by noted local architect Walter Scholer and completed in 1923. The style imitates the 15th and 16th century palazzi of Rome, Florence and other Old World urban centers. The rusticated first floor, as well as the massive arched entryway with projecting tympanum, is typical of this revival style and is accurate to its historic inspiration.
Perrin BuildingWhen this building was constructed for prominent resident James Perrin in 1877, it was the tallest building in Lafayette. The Italianate style building is notable for façade made completely of cast iron—a new and innovative building material during this period. The structural integrity of the cast iron allows for the large amount of front face's surface area to be taken up by windows, giving the building a light and delicate feel.
First Baptist ChurchThe opulent First Baptist Church on Seventh Street was constructed in 1872. Drawing inspiration from Europe's medieval ecclesiastical architecture, the Gothic Revival style building is notable for its brick corbelling, its semi-circular arched stained glass windows, and the two dramatic spires of varying height.
Knight—Loeb HouseThis Italianate residence was completed in 1882 for local entrepreneur and grain dealer Emerson Knight. Having settled here from New York City, Knight incorporated the latest conveniences in the home, including central heat and an indoor water closet. The structure is built entirely of brick, with exterior walls over fourteen inches thick and interior walls over nine inches thick. The front façade is balanced with paired projecting bays, and the roof cresting with widow's walk is notable.
Monon Railroad DepotThis neoclassical train station served the Monon Railroad line from 1901 to 1959. Drawing inspiration from the classical architecture of ancient Rome, the structure boasts a refined limestone façade with elaborate cornice detailing. As transportation patters shifted in the mid-20th century, the train station was abandoned; in 1980, the building was adapted to its current use as a community theater, emphasizing the importance of creative reuse in the preservation of historic buildings.
Trinity United Methodist ChurchThe first part of this church building was constructed in 1869, while the the main sanctuary was completed in 1873. The original cost for the building was $90,000. As with many church buildings constructed during the mid to late 19th-century, the building was constructed in the Gothic Revival style, drawing inspiration from medieval church architecture. The pointed arch entryways as well as the narrow stained glass windows are notable features.
Albert A. Wells Memorial LibraryDesigned by noted local architect Walter Scholer, this building was the first in the city to be designed specifically for use as a library (previous libraries had been housed in the former mansions of local residents). The 1926 structure is a streamlined interpretation of classical Greek architecture, it is perhaps one of the best examples of Neoclassical design in the city and today functions as home of the Tippecanoe Arts Federation.
Rush PavilionCompleted in 1899 by local builder Peter Levandowski, Rush Pavilion is a rare surviving example of 19th-century recreational architecture. With influences of the Queen Anne style that was popular during the period, the most striking feature is the pavilion’s large wrap-around veranda overlooking the lagoon. Early on, the pavilion was a popular place for social events; ice skating was popular during the winter months, and the summer months saw this space used as an ice cream parlor.
Ahavas Achim CongregationBuilt by Jacob Welschbillig in 1867 for the Ahavas Achim Congregation, is the oldest known structure in Indiana built for a Jewish congregation and one of the oldest synagogues in the country. It was built in a unique combination of Italianate and Romanesque styles and uses local materials, though the stained glass was imported from Europe. The structure features large arched windows and decorative brick corbelling along the roofline, as well as a stone carving depicting the Star of David.
Alexander—Keating HouseThis home was constructed in 1880 for notable architect and builder John F. Alexander. Alexander designed several of Lafayette's old public buildings including the Opera House and the Centennial School, after which Centennial Neighborhood is named. The home is an example of the "Neo-Jacobean" style, an old-fashioned term describing the emerging style of the 1880s which often combined the decorative elements of the older Italianate style with the quickly emerging Queen Anne style.
Flynn—Lyrinzis HouseOriginally constructed in 1892 for local laborer and drayman Patrick Flynn, this home is an unusual form for a Queen Anne style home, anticipating the form of the craftsman bungalows of the 1910s and 20s. The home is notable for its front polygonal dormer. After sitting for over a decade empty and decaying, the home was restored to its former glory by Angelica Kokkalis and her son, Dennis Lyrintzis.
James B. Falley HouseThis home was constructed in 1864 for prominent local businessman James B. Falley and his wife, Susannah. Falley owned a large shop downtown which sold tools, hardware, and farm equipment. The home It is Lafayette's only example of the Italianate Villa style that had become popular in the 1850s and 60s, exemplified by its iconic square, offset tower with short hipped roof.
Littledyke—Garland—Wright HouseConstructed in 1863 for Thomas and Hannah Littledyke, this home was built in what is often called Cottage Gothic style, incorporating Gothic Revival and Italianate features on a traditional cottage form. One of the home's most notable features is the original wooden bargeboard scroll that runs across the pointed gable. Originally from England, Thomas Littledyke was a well-known tailor in the Lafayette area; his shop downtown specialized in high-quality clothing and woolen goods (or "cassimeres")
Hupe—Gascho—Stevens HouseConstructed in 1926 for Dr. Charles Hupe, this home is one of the few residential examples of the Spanish Eclectic style in Lafayette, incorporating features of traditional Spanish Mediterranean and Spanish Colonial building styles. The home's stucco finish and red pan tile roofing are quintessential elements of the style. Also notable is the arcade of arched windows at the front of the home, as well as the flat-roofed entrance tower with sweeping parapet and inset terra cotta.
Kimmel—Luczak—Fry HouseBusinessman John Kimmel and his wife, Christinna were one of the first families to buy property in the newly-formed Highland Park Neighborhood, purchasing this large lot in 1892. Kimmel owned successful shop downtown that dealt in books, custom stationery, cards, and wallpaper. The home was constructed in 1898 in a combination of Queen Anne and Shingle styles, and is notable for its shingle-covered curving gables, sweeping limestone porches, and decorated turrets.
Walker HouseThis Queen Anne style home was constructed in 1900 for well-known newspaper editor James E. Walker. Walker purchased the Hamilton County Ledger and one year later started the Noblesville Daily Ledger, which became a popular regional publication. Walker later became the managing editor of the Lafayette Call. Soon after the home was completed, James Walker was sent to a sanitarium in Kokomo for nervous exhaustion; he became increasingly violent and deranged, and her died in the sanitarium in 1901.
Judge Cyrus Ball HouseCompleted in 1869 for community leader Judge Cyrus Ball, this impressive mansion was designed by architect George Post in a combination of Italianate and Second Empire styles. At the time, the home cost $25,000 to complete. Based on French aesthetics of the period, the home is notable for its exuberant and highly decorated façade and its slate-clad mansard roof.
Moses Fowler HouseCompleted in 1852 for local entrepreneur Moses Fowler, this distinctive home is one of the best residential examples of Gothic Revival style in the state of Indiana. A romantic and picturesque style, Gothic Revival drew inspiration from the medieval architecture of Europe. The home is based on designs found in Andrew Jackson Downing’s 1850 book "The Architecture of Country Houses," and is notable for its steeply pitched gables with elaborate scrollwork and finials, as well as decorative tracery.
Crouse HouseBuilt for Civil War veteran William O. Crouse in 1893, this historic home is notable for its vivid paint scheme. During the latter part of the 19th century, ready-mixed paints appeared on the market and new, synthetic pigments allowed for a wide variety of shades that were both vibrant and durable. These paints were used more and more on exteriors to accentuate and emphasize the ornate wooden details, the wooden spindles and shingles and sunbursts, that were so iconic to the Queen Anne style.
Perrin—Rush HouseThis historic Italianate home was constructed in 1865 and was soon after purchased by prominent resident and banker James Perrin, namesake of the historic Perrin neighborhood which he helped to develop. In 1890 the house was remodeled in the Queen Anne style, giving it its ornate gable and steeply pitched roof.
Thomas Coleman HouseThe Coleman house, on the corner of Main Street and Perrin Avenue, is little altered since it was built by Thomas Coleman in 1875. Coleman was one of the first to build his residence on the 63 acres platted and developed by James J. Perrin, who had moved to Lafayette in 1869 as president of the Indiana National Bank. Coleman's house today serves as a stately anchor to the Perrin Historic District, a well-preserved neighbourhood containing many homes built during the latter part of the 19th centu
Falley—O'Gara—Pyke HouseConstructed in 1884 for local businessman James B. Falley and his wife, Susannah, this Italianate home is notable for its opulent limestone door and window surrounds, as well as the broken cornice with inset diamond windows.
James Ward HouseIn 1855, James Ward, a carpet merchant, bought land for his future residence which was completed in 1875. The Building is a combination of Italianate and Second Empire styles. Typically Italianate are the asymmetrical design of the exterior including a tower and projecting bay, the tall narrow windows, and eaves supported by brackets. The mansard roof of the tower has a Second Empire source.
Lafayette Fire Station No.3Completed in 1921, this firehouse building was designed to be both functional and attractive. The firehouse is constructed in the Prairie School style, featuring a wide overhanging eave and bands of windows which highlights the horizontal aspect of the building. Today, the building houses the Five Points Fire Station Museum focusing on the life of firefighters in the 1930s.
Dr. George Beasley HouseThis building was constructed in 1902 for Dr George Beasley, a prominent local physician. The home is a wonderful example of Renaissance Revival style, modelled after the town houses and palazzi of the Italian Renaissance. One of the home's most notable features is the pale yellow brick that largely makes up the exterior, and large Palladian windows appear on the front and side with radiating limestone voussoirs.
Potter—Haan MansionThis neoclassical residence originally served as the Connecticut Pavilion at the 1904 World's Fair in St. Louis. After the fair was over, local businessman William Potter purchased the structure and had it disassembled, shipped to Lafayette by train, and reassembled on this spot. The home was later purchased by Robert and Ellen Haan, who have opened up the home as a museum showcasing the works of Indiana artists. The museum is home to the largest collection of Indiana art in the world.
SamaraDesigned by famed architect Frank Lloyd Wright, this home was built for pharmaceutical chemistry professor John Christian and his wife, Kay, in 1956. The home was named after the samara which Wright spotted on the property during his first visit. He worked a stylized design of chevron-shaped leaves throughout the design of the home including the clerestory windows, dining chairs and the living room rug. The home is one of the best and most complete examples of Wright's Usonion style.
Purdue State BankCompleted in 1914, the Purdue State Bank Building was designed by noted architect Louis Henry Sullivan, one of the seminal architects of what came to be known as the Prairie School style. Typical of the style, the building features restrained use of ornament and long bands of windows which emphasize the horizontal lines of the façade. The building is part of Sullivan’s “jewel box” series—a collection of eight bank buildings constructed across the Midwest featuring decorative terra cotta tile.
University HallCompleted in 1876, University Hall is the only original surviving building on Purdue University's campus. Combining Italianate and Second Empire styles which a touch of Gothic Revival influence, the building was designed by architect W.H. Brown and originally housed a library, chapel, and lecture halls.
West Lafayette Fire Station No.1Constructed in 1917, this fire station exhibits an interesting blend of the more traditional Renaissance Revival and the more modern Praire School style popularized in the 1910s. The building is notable for its spiring square tower as well as its large arched doorways with limestone surrounds.